Towns in Saskatchewan are defined as “urban municipalities”.  These municipalities are created by a ministerial order that describes the municipal boundaries. Each is governed by an elected council that can hire staff to manage daily administration and maintain municipal services (e.g. roads, utilities, recreation facilities). A municipal council has the power to adopt bylaws:

  • to provide for the health and safety of the municipality’s residents,
  • to decide what type and level of municipal services will be provided,
  • to control land development and zoning provisions,
  • to borrow money for municipal improvements, and
  • to set local tax policies & rates to cover the costs of municipal services.

Saskatchewan’s towns are governed by the provincial legislation set out in the The Municipalities Act.

List of Towns in Saskatchewan

NamePopulation¹Community InfoListings Page
Earl Grey246View InfoView local MLS® Listings
Edenwold233View InfoView local MLS® Listings
Fort Qu’Appelle 2,027 View Info View local MLS® Listings
Francis674View InfoView local MLS® Listings
Grand Coulee649View InfoView local MLS® Listings
Lumsden1,824View InfoView local MLS® Listings
Sintaluta119View InfoView local MLS® Listings

¹Source: 2016 Stats Can Census

*Page Last updated Aug 2021